Tax filing deadline for disaster victims: Alaska, Maine, Rhode Island

The IRS announced to disaster victims in parts of Alaska, Maine, and Rhode Island that their 2023 federal income tax returns and tax payments are due on Monday, July 15, 2024.

The tax department designed the tax filing and tax return payments for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Qualified Areas

The tax filing deadline for disaster victims applies to the taxpayers affected by the disaster declarations in the three major states. The major qualified areas include:

  • Wrangell Cooperative Association, Alaska Tribal Nation.
  • Cumberland, Hancock, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Waldo, Washington, and York.
  • Kent, Newport, Providence, and Washington.
  • Eligible localities are always available on the Tax relief and visit

Tax Filing

With the following instructions, you need to apply for tax payments, and qualified people will be able to pay the tax returns:

  • Browse the online portal and check for the latest updates.
  • Sign into your account and check the tax filing.
  • If you’re a new taxpayer, create an account and fill out the personal information.
  • Attach the bank account details and submit the information.
  • Account has been successfully created and make payment of Tax returns.

Payment options

Taxpayers who are unable to pay the tax before the deadline can pay the tax payment, apply online for a payment plan, and check out the online payment plan options that include short-term and long-term payment plans.

The short-term payment plan refers to the total balance (less than $100,000) in combined tax with an additional time of 180 days, while the long-term payment plan refers to the total balance (less than $50,000) in combined tax with penalties and interest within 72 months.

For balances between $25,000 and $50,000, direct debit is required.

Qualified Returns and Payments

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) sets the eligibility criteria for paying tax returns and payments including:

  • Calendar year 2023: Partnership and corporation returns (March 15)
  • 2023 Individual Income: Tax returns and payments (April 15)
  • Quarterly estimated tax payments: Due dates on April 15 and June 17.
  • Calendar year 2023: Corporate and fiduciary income tax returns and payments (April 15)
  • Calendar-year 2023: Tax-exempt organizations (May 15)

Other disaster-area Taxpayers

The Tax filing deadline for disaster victims in three other states face deadlines, file tax returns, and pay the due taxes, including:

  • July 31 for two counties in Massachusetts: Bristol and Worcester.
  • August 7 for two counties in Hawaii: Hawaii and Maui.
  • September 3 for 11 counties in Ohio: Auglaize, Crawford, Darke, Delaware, Hancock, Licking, Logan, Mercer, Miami, Richland, and Union.

Leave a Comment